Vijayawada the new regional office for DGFT

8 districts of AP now come under the new Vijayawada DGFT

The Dollar Business Bureau

The major trading hub of Andhra Pradesh, Vijayawada city is now the new Regional office of the Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT).

In its public notification no.- 43/2015-2020dtd November 11, 2016, the DGFT announced that the new Regional Office of DGFT at Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh is included in the Appendix-1A of Foreign Trade Policy, 2015-20. 

Consequently the territorial jurisdiction of Regional Authority, Vishakhapatnam is re-allocated as whole of Andhra Pradesh excluding the districts which are under the jurisdiction of Regional Authority, Vijayawada.

The districts that come under the jurisdiction of DGFT Vijayawada Regional office are Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam, Kurnool,  Chittoor, Cuddapah, Anantapur and Nellore.

Adjudged the third best city and bagging the Skoch Smart City Award in October, Vijayawada is famous for processing of agricultural products, automobile body building, hardware, textile, consumer goods and small scale industries. The GDP of Vijayawada in 2010 was $3 billion (Rs. 18,000 crore) and is expected to grow up to $17 billion (Rs. 1,02,000 crore) by 2025.

It is one of the Tier-II cities and categorized under B-1 grade cities of India. The city has been foreseen as the 'Global City of the Future' by McKinsey Quarterly.

Related Topics:
The Dollar Business Bureau - Nov 12, 2016 12:00 IST